[tp widget="default/tpw_default.php"]
 

Tag: What is a farm license plate in Virginia

how to get farm use tags in virginia

how to get farm use tags in virginia插图

Virginia lawmakers have passed state legislation to crack down on people who use “farm-use” tags for personal vehicles. As of now, anyone can go into afarm supply storeand purchase a farm use plate to display on their vehicle, whether it is being used for farm purposes or not.

Will new law reduce abuse of farm use tags in Virginia?

A new state law restricting the kinds of vehicles allowed to display Farm Use license plates is being met with approval by Virginia farmers, who hope the stricter rules will reduce abuse of the tags.

How do I register a farm vehicle in Virginia?

In Virginia, farmers have several choices when it comes to registration of vehicles used on the farm. They can get regular tags, F-tags, or post Farm Use on their vehicle. The right choice depends on how the vehicle’s use fits within the rights and limitations of the law.

What is a farm license plate in Virginia?

(Va. Code 46.2-698) Farm vehicle license plates issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles may be used on a vehicle used for farming purposes by anyone who owns, rents, or operates a farm of a size that reasonably requires the use of such a vehicle to transport agricultural products.

How do I get a farm use exemption in Virginia?

Now, farmers who wish to obtain a farm use exemption must complete a registration process with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to obtain a non-transferable, permanent placard with an alphanumeric identification number. The law was signed on April 1st by Virginia representatives and will go into effect on July 1, 2023.

What is an unregistered farm tag?

Generally speaking, unregistered farm use tags are available for vehicles that are almost exclusively used on a farm.

What is an F tag?

Essentially, an F-tag is a kind of middle-ground between a fully registered car and an unregistered farm use vehicle.

What happens if you use tags incorrectly?

Even people who accidentally use these tags incorrectly can face harsh penalties including fines and possibly jail time.

How far can a farm vehicle travel from the nearest plant?

Finally, Virginia Code § 46.2-666 states that a farm use vehicle can’t travel more than 75 miles to and from the nearest plant or market they are going to.

What are the benefits of using tags?

The biggest benefit that these tags share, however, is cost, as each can end up saving you a great deal of money in the long run.

How many types of farm license plates are there in Virginia?

There are actually two different types of “farm use” license plates in Virginia.

What can an attorney do to help you?

An attorney can help guide you through the specifics of the legal process, and possibly even help you avoid many of the larger fines.

How much does a farm vehicle weigh?

To register a vehicle as a farm vehicle, the vehicle must have a gross weight of 7,500 pounds or more (Va. Code § 46.2-698 ). Farm vehicles must also meet titling and insurance requirements.

How far is a CDL required from a farm?

A CDL is required if your farm vehicle is operated 150 miles or more from your Virginia-based farm and meets the following definition of a commercial vehicle.

What is a registered farm vehicle?

Valid Purposes for a Registered Farm Vehicle. Vehicles that are registered for farming purposes can be used to transport: agricultural products to market or to other points for sale or processing; materials, tools, equipment, or supplies that will be used or consumed on the farm; anything incidental to the routine operation of the farm;

How much does it cost to register a farm vehicle?

To register a vehicle for farming purposes you will pay one-half the registration fee paid for a private vehicle; however, your registration fee will be at least $15.00. (Va. Code § 46.2-698)

What is the meaning of "forest products"?

farm produce, supplies, equipment, or materials to another farm through a mutual agreement with the owner of the other farm; forest products to the farm including forest materials originating on a farm or related to the regular operation of the farm; forest products which originate on the farm.

What is non farm use?

Non-farm use is limited to the personal use of the owner and his immediate family to attend church or school, to secure medical treatment or supplies, or to secure other household or family necessities.

Do farm vehicles have to be titled?

Farm vehicles must be titled, with the exception of farm tractors, special construction and forestry equipment, which are exempted from titling and registration requirements. All other motor vehicles operated on a highway must be titled, even those exempt from registration. (Va. Code § 46.2-600)

What is a violation of 46.2-665?

Willfully and intentionally violating the limitations imposed under § § 46.2-665, 46.2-666, and 46.2-670 while operating an unregistered vehicle pursuant to the agricultural and horticultural exemptions allowed under those sections. A first violation of this subdivision shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $250, and a second or subsequent violation of this subdivision shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of $250. (Va. Code § 46.2-613)

Is a log cart exempt from registration?

Tractors, trailers, log carts or similar vehicles owned by a sawmill operator are exempt from registration when the vehicle is operated along a highway from one sawmill or sawmill site to another, to or from a repair shop for repairs or across a highway from one adjoining tract of land to another. (Va. Code § 46.2-669 )

Do you have to register an unregistered vehicle?

Unregistered Vehicle Conditions. You are not required to register a vehicle (obtain license plates and decals) or pay a registration fee for any pickup or panel truck, sport utility vehicle, vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 7,500 pounds, trailer, or semitrailer used exclusively for agricultural or horticultural purposes on …

Do you have to register a tractor?

You are not required to register or pay a registration fee for any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or fertilizer spreader drawn by a farm tractor used by a farmer, his tenant, agent or employee or a cotton ginner, peanut buyer, or fertilizer distributor to transport unginned cotton, peanuts, or fertilizer owned by the farmer, cotton ginner, peanut buyer, or fertilizer distributor from one farm to another, from farm to gin, from farm to dryer, from farm to market, or from fertilizer distributor to farm and on return to the distributor. However, this exemption does not apply to vehicles operated on a for-hire basis. (Va. Code § 46.2-672 )

Do you have to register a pickup truck?

You are not required to register or pay a registration fee for any pickup or panel truck, sport utility vehicle, vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 7,500 pounds, trailer, or semitrailer owned by the owner or lessee of a farm and used by the owner on a seasonal basis in transporting farm produce and livestock along public highways for a distance of no more than seventy-five (75) miles, including the distance to the nearest storage house, packing plant, or market. Although registration is not required, such vehicles must be titled. (Va. Code § 46.2-666)

Do you have to register a vehicle with a sprayer?

You are not required to register or pay a registration fee for any vehicle with a securely attached machine for spraying fruit trees and other plants cultivated by the owner or lessee of the vehicle. (Va. Code § 46.2-664 )

Do you have to register a farm vehicle?

You are not required to register or pay a registration fee for any farm vehicle if the vehicle is making a return trip from any marketplace, transporting back to the farm ordinary and essential food and other products for home and farm use, or transporting farm supplies to the farm. (Va.

What is a farm use tag?

The Farm Use tag exempts farmers from paying state and local registration fees for vehicles used only for agriculture and driven just short distances on public roads. Under the new law, which took effect on July 1, only pickup trucks, SUVs, panel trucks, trailers and other equipment with a gross weight greater than 7,500 pounds can display a Farm Use tag.

How to stay up to date with Lancaster Farming?

Stay up-to-date with Lancaster Farming by signing up for our weekly re-cap newsletter. Didn’t have time to read the paper on Saturday? Here’s your chance to get the main stories delivered right to your inbox before the paper is on your doorstep.

Can you drive a vehicle with a farm tag?

Before the new law took effect, any vehicle could be driven with Farm Use tags if the vehicle was used only for agriculture or if the driver said the vehicle was only being used for agriculture.

When we have a chance, do we enforce?

We enforce (the new restrictions) pretty heavily when we have a chance, he said.

Who is the president of Page County Farmers Association?

There are a lot of people out here who have (those tags) on their trucks, but they re not farming It gives us a bad name, said Les Clem, president of the Page County Farmers Association.